In This Section

Home / About / Awards & Recognition / Annual Achievement Award

Annual Achievement Award

headshots-Hurria-Dale-200x500Arti Hurria, MD, FASCO
City of Hope

The 2019 ACCC Annual Achievement Award is being presented posthumously to Arti Hurria, MD, FASCO, former George Tsai Family Chair in Geriatric Oncology, director of the Center for Cancer and Aging at City of Hope, and nationally regarded expert and advocate for elderly patients with cancer.

In 1995, Dr. Hurria began her internship at Beth Israel Medical Center, which has a strong geriatrics and oncology programs. In addition, Dr. Hurria completed a geriatrics fellowship at Harvard to bolster her skills and knowledge in treating older patients before entering her oncology fellowship at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center (MSK) in 1999, a time when the field of geriatric oncology was just beginning to emerge. It was at MSK where Dr. Hurria met another important mentor, George Bosl, MD, who was Chair of Medicine. Together, they wrote a grant to bring cancer care and geriatrics together in a comprehensive cancer center. That experience solidified Dr. Hurria’s decision to enhance the field of geriatric oncology and influenced her move to City of Hope, where she made her mark in geriatric oncology and remained for the duration of her remarkable career.

Dr. Hurria served as founding editor of the Journal of Geriatric Oncology. She was Chair and Founder of the Cancer and Aging Research Group, Co-Chair of the Alliance Cancer in the Elderly Committee, past President of the International Society of Geriatric Oncology, and past Chair of the National Comprehensive Cancer Network® (NCCN®) Older Adult Oncology Committee. She received many awards and honors, including ASCO’s B. J. Kennedy Award for Scientific Excellence in Geriatric Oncology, the International Society of Geriatric Oncology’s Paul Calabresi award, the Paul B. Beeson Career Development Award in Aging (K23), and the Frederick Steen Memorial Award for Humanism in Medicine.

William Dale, MD, PhD, co-principal investigator with Dr. Hurria on a five-year, $2 million grant from the National Institute of Aging, will accept the award on her behalf. Dr. Dale, the Arthur M. Coppola Family Chair in Supportive Care Medicine and clinical professor and chair of City of Hope's Department of Supportive Care Medicine, will provide an update on their ground-breaking research and the importance of conducting a comprehensive geriatric assessment to help address the unique needs of this growing patient population.



The Annual Achievement Award has been given since 1980 to distinguished individuals or organizations in a wide variety of fields, who have reflected values of community cancer care through their outstanding contributions.

Selection Process

The Award Selection Committee reviews the applicants and nominees and selects the candidate to recommend to the Board of Trustees for approval. The winner is then notified and recognized at the 36th National Oncology Conference in the fall.

Eligibility Criteria

  • Nominee MUST be able to attend and personally accept award at the National Oncology Conference.
  • Nominee MUST be a nationally recognized leader in cancer patient care.
  • Nominee will have made a national contribution in screening, prevention, and treatment; survivorship; patient advocacy; and/or laboratory science.

Award Winner Recognition

The Annual Achievement Award recipient is recognized on stage at the ACCC National Oncology Conference in the fall. The winner receives the following:

  • $1,000 cash award plus a plaque
  • Travel expenses (round-trip coach airfare, 2 nights hotel accommodations, meals, parking, mileage)
  • Conference registration fee waived
  • Featured in press release to local and national outlets
  • Acknowledgment through the ACCC website, electronic communications, and social media platforms
Questions? Please email Betsy Spruill, Leadership Relations Manager, ACCC, or call 301.984.9496, ext. 206.

View Past Winners